Bigeye Thresher Shark Photo

This bigeye thresher shark photograph is one of my most exciting shots because this species of shark is rarely caught. I was fishing about 50 miles off of Pompano Beach, Fla. when I saw a 16 ft. shark swimming near the boat. Without thinking twice, I grabbed my camera jumped in the water. I got as many shots as I could before he swam away. I didn’t even think twice about getting close to him to take pictures. It had to be one of the raddest experiences in my life. He was enormous!

The reason big eye thresher sharks are so difficult to find is because they spend their days in deep waters and usually only come up the surface at night. They have also been listed as vulnerable to extinction by World Conservation Union. There are three different species for thresher sharks, which can be identified by their long thresher-like tails. Bigeye threshers live in tropical oceans worldwide and can be identified by their long big eyes and large grooves on their heads.

Visit www.jasonarnoldcollection.com to see more shark and marine life photos.

About jarnoldcollection

Jason Arnold is an award winning Florida-based photographer who has captivated audiences of all generations. Being a third generation commer
This entry was posted in Sharks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

